Archived Media-Awards-Announcements 2014

Prof. Shana Cole's research explores the cognitive,perceptual, and affective processes that underlie successful goal pursuit. Across various goal domains she uses a multi-method approach to study the self-regulatory strategies that people spontaneously employ as well as to develop interventions that can assist in combating some of society's most complex problems, including obesity, smoking, divorce, and climate change. For example, in one line of work Dr. Cole developed an attentional strategy that promotes and improves exercise behavior. When people narrowly focus visual attention on a target, the target appears closer. As a result, people increase the speed with which they walk to the target and experience the task as easier. This work was recently featured in several popular press outlets, including in The Huffington Post(2015), Women's Health(2014), Yahoo! Health(2014), and Cosmpolitan(2014). 
Stephanie Anglin, graduate student in Psychology, publishes On the nature of implicit soul beliefs: When the past weighs more than the present, in the British Journal of Social Psychology. Read more in Rutgers Today (Nov. 3, 2014).
Rutgers Today (Oct. 8, 2014): Getting Mental Health Care at the Doctor's OfficePhoto: Nick Romanenko, Rutgers University
Lynn Clemow, associate professor Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, with Rutgers psychology graduate students David Eddie and Jessica Yu at the Family Medicine of Monument Square clinic.
Kara (Kiki) Fehling, graduate student in psychology, is the recipient of the New Jersey Psychological Association Foundation's Research into Causes and/or Treatment of Social Problems Award for her submission, "Examining the Correlates of Non-Suicidal Self-Injury Among Non-Heterosexual Adults"  September 2014 
Professor Laurie Rudman receives the 2014 Carolyn Wood Sherif Award (APA Division 35) in recognition of her contributions to the field of the psychology of women as a scholar, teacher, mentor and leader.
Professor Alan Leslie is President of the Society for Philosophy and Psychology, 2014.
From Research News at Rutgers -Aug 4, 2014:  Anorexia Fueled by Pride About Weight Loss  "The death rate for anorexia nervosa is 12 times higher for females between the ages of 15 and 24 than for all other causes of death combined."  See Professor Edward Selby's paper in Clinical Psychological Science
Professsor Danielle McCarthy (r) and Ph.D. graduate students Yasmine Omar and Krysten Bold, on addiction researchin the Spring 2014 edition of ACCESS, a School of Arts and Sciences publication.
C. Randy Gallistel is President-elect of the Association for Psychological Science (APS), 2014-2015.
Melissa Kibbe (Ph.D. 2011) has been appointed (2014) as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences at Boston University.  Melissa earned her Ph.D in Alan Leslie's Cognitive Development Lab for her work on object cognition in infants. She held a pre-doc fellowship under the NSF IGERT Program in Perceptual Science and studied working memory in Dr. Eileen Kowler's Eye Movements, Vision & Cognition Lab, and was a member of the RuCCS Certificate in Cognitive Science program. Melissa finishes an appointment as a post-doctoral research associate in Dr. Lisa Feigenson's Child Development Lab at Johns Hopkins University prior to moving to Boston University.
Mike Alveraz, who graduated with Honors in Psychology in 2007, wins a 2014 Soros Fellowship - see Rutgers Today (April 10, 2014).As a former Honors undergraduate working with Dr. George Atwood, Mike was the recipient of the 2007 Charles F. Flaherty Award for an Outstanding Psychology Student. The department congratulates Mike on winning the Soros Fellowship and wishes him continued success. 
Carolyn Black Becker (Ph.D. 1996) has been selected as the President-Elect (2014) of the Academy of Eating Disorders (AED). AED, the largest and most important organization in the field, is international and takes an inter-disciplinary approach to eating disorders.Carolyn (a former student of Terry Wilson) is one of the world’s leading clinical researchers on the prevention of eating disorders. Among her many honors she was selected as a Fellow at the prestigious Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford (2011-12).
Professors Jacob Feldman & Manish Singh have been jointly selected to receive a 2013/2014 Board of Trustees Award forExcellence in Research.
Professor Terry Wilson is the 2014 recipient of the Distinguished Scientific Award for the Application of Psychology from the American Psychological Association.This award honors psychologists who have made distinguished theoretical or empirical advances in psychology leading to the understanding or amelioration of important practical problems. Other winners of this significant award have been Alan Kazdin, David Barlow, and Dr. Wilson's former student Professor Kelly Brownell. Dr. Wilson will be formally presented with the award at the annual APA convention, in Washington D.C. August 7-10, 2014.
Professor Terry Wilson will receive the 2014 Craig Johnson Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice and Training - from the National Eating Disorders Association at the national meeting in San Antonio, October 2014.
On March 16, 2014, at the American Academy of Health Behavior (AAHB) Annual Meeting, Dr. David Abrams was named the 2014 AAHB Research Laureate, the highest award bestowed by The Academy and honors an individual who has made a significant and enduring contribution to health behavior research. David received his Ph.D. in clinical psychology at Rutgers University in 1981 (former student of Terry Wilson).  He is currently Executive Director, The Schroeder Institute for Tobacco Research and Policy Studies at Legacy, and a Professor at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Georgetown University Medical Center and the University of Maryland.