2008 - 2010 GSNB Award Recipients

Rutgers University Graduate School New Brunswick

Alumni Awards received by Psychology Department Alumni

Lifetime Achievement Award

2008  Kelly D. Brownell, PhD (1977, G. Terence Wilson) Director, Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, Yale University
  For a lifetime of distinguished accomplishments and service to the understanding, prevention and treatment of obesity and eating disorders.


Distinguished Accomplishment in Social and Behavioral Science

2005  Alan I. Leshner, PhD (1969, George Collier) Chief Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science and Executive Publisher, Science
  In recognition of his contributions to the study of hormones and behavior, his national leadership in the support of scientific research, and his unwavering championship of the scientific enterprise

2007  David Brian Abrams, PhD (1981, G. Terence Wilson) Director, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research, National Institutes of Health
  For distinguished accomplishments and service to the understanding of addictive behavior and its consequences and of effective methods of treatment.


Award for Early Career Distinction

2007  Brian Jeffrey Scholl, PhD (1999, Zenon Pylyshyn) Associate Professor, Yale University
  For outstanding accomplishments and recognition in cognitive psychology in the early years of his career.

2010  Noel T. Brewer, PhD (2002, Gretchen Chapman), Assistant Professor of Health Behavior and Health Education, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
 For extraordinary early accomplishments in research and teaching in the field of the psychology of medical decision-making and risk perception.